top of page
  • asaustin

Week 9 and 10

Spring break, familiar faces and new places


 

Monday 03.25.19

Today at recuperale I experienced many new things. I was picked up at the bus by Oscar (the manager of the company) on his moped, then I was introduced to four prisoners. We worked together to fill the beer bottles with beer then cap them. It was very interesting and pushed me way out of my comfort zone. I was surprised by un friendly they were toward me. It was not what I was expecting at all.



 

Tuesday 03.26.19

I had a lot going on today. I started out at my internship Zappata Romana working on translating the final pieces that will be displayed at Eataly. I am happy that this project is almost done, because I find it sort of boring to just work on the computer. Although I am learning about different native trees I would rather be doing more hands on work. Then had a meeting with my supervisor Giulia at Gustolab to check in, and finally Italian from 3-5. Today was my last class with the same professor I have had since the beginning. The school believes that its important to switch up teachers every few weeks so that the students can get used to different accents.


 


Wednesday 03.27.19

Today I got the chance to take a cooking class with other students at Gustolab! We learned how to cook cabinara and zucchini risotto!!! It was such an amazing experience and made me think about how easy it would be to collect all of the ingredients from local and fresh farms and then recreate at home! My group was pretty proud of our final creations because going into the kitchen we were told that the Chef was harsh and sort of cold. If she didn't like the taste of your product she would spit it out in front of everyone, but when she tasted our dish she even went as far as to tell us how yummy it was.



 


Thursday 03.28.19

Today I worked at Zappata Romana. It was a pretty great day because Silvia told me that she has chosen my idea for the up coming garden activity this weekend. Children will be learning how to make their own take home garden and how to keep it alive and growing! I suggested that we collect used paper milk cartons to use as the pots. This way we are also recycling. I spent the day cutting up scrap paper that was around the office to create a blank canvas for the outside of the milk cartons so that the children will be able to decorate their own take home garden.







 



Friday 03.29.19

Today at Linaria I got the chance to work on two different projects! First I started out helping to paint and sand down the seats that will be put into community gardens in Milan. I also learned that Linaria uses 100% recycled wood and other materials that they can repurpose! Then I worked with the fruit called cumquats! I helped peel them and place the skin in the dehydrator to then be made into jam! 


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page