top of page
  • asaustin

Week 12: Reduce Reuse Recycle


 


 

Monday 08.04.19



Tuesday 09.04.19

Today I went to Zappata Romana and worked from 10 am until 1. When I walked in to the office this morning Silvia greeted me with a smile as always and asked if I wanted to help create the Easter egg baskets! It was really nice to listen and understand how much thought she puts into making every activity sustainably friendly. There was an idea that looked really good by using left over plastic containers but Silvia insisted that there be no plastic entering the garden even if it was being recycled. So we used cardboard juice cartons and left over scrap paper we could find! 

After my internship I had an hour break for lunch and then went to my Italian class until 5:00 p.m. Then I met up with my mentor Giulia from Gustolab and went to a non profit "Centro Accoglienza Minori" on the outside of Rome to interview for my research paper.





 

Wednesday 10.04.19

When I woke up today it was absolutely pouring outside. After arriving to my internship and waiting for 20 minutes for someone to show up, I finally saw Rafaell who had just came back from design week in Milan and told me that because of the weather they will be not be working today. So today I learned yet another lesson of the Italian culture. DO NOT SHOW UP TO WORK IF ITS RAINING.


 




Thursday 11.04.19

Today I finished up working on the Easter egg baskets. I really admire Silvia's dedication and passion. She always makes sure to go the extra mile. When I asked where to put the scraps and left over material from this project she had me keep what ever could be saved and used again for next year. She also had me cut out the plastic top of the containers and recycle them into plastic while keeping the rest for the paper pile.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page